Two Important Announcements From the AAW

The following two opportunities were published in the October issue of American Woodturner. We regret this information was not available in the September Chapter Bulletin.

Chapter Bulletin - IMPORTANT UPDATE

2016 AAW Educational Opportunity Grant Applications

AAW's Educational Opportunity Grant (EOG) fund continues to be strong, thanks to the wonderful generosity of donors and buyers at our annual symposium auction. Funds are available for worthy proposals.

Chapters, individuals, students, schools, and others are eligible to apply. The guidelines and application form are available at (case sensitive). To be considered for a 2016 grant, applications must be received by December 31, 2015.

If you have questions, please contact the AAW office at

Arrowmont and Campbell Scholarships

The AAW is pleased to continue offering financial assistance for quality woodturning instruction. Scholarships will be awarded to selected AAW chapter members to attend classes at either John C. Campbell Folk School, Brasstown, North Carolina (, or Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts, Gatlinburg, Tennessee ( Under the program, the AAW Endowment Trust Fund, in combination with the two schools, will make available funds for the scholarships. 14 scholarships will be awarded for each school, for a total of 28. This is the same number awarded in 2014.

Scholarship nominees must be AAW members and be chosen through a process authorized by their AAW chapter officers. As a added benefit, Star Chapters are allotted two nominations for the first fifty members and one additional nominee for each additional fifty members. All other chapters will be allotted one nomination for the first fifty AAW members in the chapter. After that, each additional fifty AAW members will allow another nomination. If more members are nominated than the total number of available scholarships, a drawing will determine the winners. The program provides tuition only for courses directly related to woodturning. Room, board, and travel are the responsibility of the winners. All awards will be for courses in 2016.

Chapters must provide the names of nominees, the number of chapter members, and the number of AAW members in the chapter to Phil McDonald by December 15, 2015 (extended from November 15, 2015), using the online application found at (case sensitive). Winners will be notified in early 2016.

Yours respectfully,